Internal Conflict

My first full 10 week rotation is finally complete – and man does it feel good! Internal medicine: it’s a physician’s “bread and butter,” where we as medical students learn how to manage both chronic and acute illness.

Or, thats what we’re supposed to be doing.

For me, internal medicine felt a lot more like a combination of speech and acting class, where we learn how to give a perfect presentation and act completely enthralled on rounds. However, as much as I struggled with certain aspects of this block, I did learn a few more interesting things:

  • Medical School is hard – it’s even harder when you go through your day feeling as if  all your effort is completely useless.
  • Patients can be both at risk for clotting and massive hemorrhage at the same time – good luck deciding whether or not they should be on anti platelet therapy
  • Ohio is not for me.
  • I dislike shadowing just as much now as I did when I was in undergrad.
  • You can be good at something and still hate every second of it.
  • No matter how good the circumstances of life, you can always find something to complain about (and vice versa), your experience of a situation has much more to do with your outlook than the situation itself.
  • I have a “great” personality.
  • I LOVE cardiology.
  • For many patients, the social work part of their case is often the most complicated
  • I have the capacity to be jealous of a catatonic schizophrenic.
  • Don’t try to put SCD’s on a bilateral above the knee amputee – the nurses will get VERY confused.
  • Rheumatology is a specialty for BOTH joints and autoimmune disease.
  • The best way to motivate people is to believe in them, its far more effective than threats. We’re much more scared by the prospect of disappointing you than angering you.

All in all, I am thrilled to be done with Internal Medicine, and totally psyched to be headed to psych-ation next!

Leave a Reply

